Focused, Fearless Counsel To Help You
Take Control of Your Future

Tampa DUI Penalties Attorney

Driving Under the Influence is a serious offense in Florida and is harshly prosecuted. Depending on the circumstances and whether or not you have had any prior drunk driving convictions, you can even face a felony charge.

A DUI conviction can also influence many other aspects of your life. You could for example lose your job if driving is an essential part of your job duties or if you work in the medical field. It can also affect your personal life and your ability to get around because of the mandatory license suspensions that are associated with a conviction. That is why it is important to hire an experienced DUI defense attorney. An attorney may be able to help you get the charges reduced and thereby avoid some of the harsh penalties and safe your career.

First DUI in Florida

Jail Time:

  • No minimum jail time required

  • Up to 6 months if you refuse the breath, blood, or urine test or blow below 0.15 • Up to 9 months if you blow above 0.15 or had a minor in the car

  • Up to 1 year if you had an accident

License Suspension

  • Minimum 6 months and maximum 1 year

  • You are eligible for a hardship license as long as you completed the DUI School

Ignition Interlock Device

  • Not required if you refused the breath, blood or urine test or if you blew below 0.15 • If BAC was above 0.15, the interlock will be required for at least 6 months

Fines

  • $500 to $1000 if BAC below 0.15 and no minor in the car

  • $1000 to $2000 if BAC above 0.15 or you had a minor in the car

Other Penalties

  • 10-day Vehicle immobilization or Impound

  • Minimum of 50 community service hours

  • DUI School

  • Victim Impact Penal

  • Court costs

  • Mandatory misdemeanor conviction

Second DUI in Florida

Jail Time

  • 10 day minimum jail time if within 5 years of your first drunk driving conviction - the judge has the discretion to substitute an inpatient rehab program

  • No minimum jail time if your second offense is more than 5 years after your first conviction • Up to 9 months in jail if you refused or blew below 0.15 and did not have a minor in the car and did not have an accident

  • Up to 12 months jail if you blew above 0.15, had an accident or had a minor in the car License Suspension

  • 5-year minimum suspension with the possibility of a hardship license after 1 year if the second arrest is less than 5 years after the first conviction

  • Up to 6 months if the second arrest is more than 5 years after the first conviction Ignition Interlock Device

  • 1 year if BAC below 0.15

  • 2 years if BAC above 0.15

Fines

  • $1000 to $2000 if BAC below 0.15 and no minor in the car

  • $2000 to $4000 if BAC above 0.15 or minor in the car

Other Penalties

  • 30-day vehicle immobilization if within 5 years of 1st conviction

  • No minimum amount of community service hours are required but often imposed • DUI School

  • Victim Impact Penal

  • Court costs

  • Mandatory misdemeanor conviction

Third DUI in Florida

Jail Time

  • 30 day minimum jail time if within 10 years of your first two drunk driving convictions - the judge has the discretion to substitute an inpatient rehab program

  • Up to 12 months and no minimum jail time if your second offense is more than 10 years after your first two convictions

License Suspension

  • 10-year minimum suspension with the possibility of a hardship license after 2 years Ignition Interlock Device

  • 2 years

Fines

  • $2000 to $5000 if BAC below 0.15 and no minor in the car

  • $4000 to $5000 if BAC above 0.15 or minor in the car

Other Penalties

  • 90-day vehicle immobilization if within 10 years of 1st two convictions

  • No minimum amount of community service hours are required but often imposed • DUI School

  • Victim Impact Penal

  • Court costs

  • Felony conviction if within 10 years of the first two drunk driving convictions or a misdemeanor conviction if more than 10 years after

Fourth or Subsequent DUI in Florida

Incarceration

  • Up to 5 years in Florida State Prison no matter how long ago your prior drunk driving convictions were.

  • How long your prison sentence will be depends on how many points you score and that will depend on the facts and circumstances of the case and any prior criminal convictions you may have

License Suspension

  • Permanent license revocation with no possibility of a hardship license

Ignition Interlock Device

  • 2 years

Fines

  • Minimum of $2000 and a maximum of $5000

Other Penalties

  • 90-day vehicle immobilization

  • No minimum amount of community service hours are required but often imposed • DUI School

  • Victim Impact Penal

  • Court costs

  • Felony conviction